Meet the Board

Bitterroot Trail Preservation Alliance

The Bitterroot Trail Preservation Alliance Board of Directors is composed of 4 to 9 individuals elected by and from the membership of the organization who are 18 years of age or older. Board members are elected for terms of 3 years each with terms staggered to provide overlap of membership. Board member elections are held each March at the annual members' meeting.

Board members for 2019 and their cities of residence

President: Jean Belangie-Nye, founding member - Lolo


Jean Belangie-Nye is president of the Bitterroot Trail Preservation Alliance Board of Directors and one of the founding members. Although, she is not an avid cyclist, she is an strong advocate for multi-use shared trails. Her dream is to see a shared use pathway that runs from Glacier Park to Yellowstone Park through the Bitterroot. Eventually she would like to see a Trail that runs from the Trail of the Coeur d’ Alene’s to North Dakota and connects all of Montana’s shared use pathways.

Jean has been involved with the Trail for almost thirty years. She chaired the Highway 93 South Pathway Focus Group and was the Missoula County and Lolo representative on the Citizens Advisory Committee for Highway 93 South. Jean was the chair of the Missoula2Lolo Shared Use Committee for the pathway section between Missoula and Lolo. She was a member of Team Tiger which resulted in the TIGER Grant for the Missoula2Lolo section of the Bitterroot Trail. Jean was a member of the Bike Walk Alliance for Missoula Board for seven years and chair for two years.

Jean is an artist and former elementary school educator who lives in Lolo with her standard poodle, Tycho and her cat, Abu. In addition to her passion for trails, Jean spends her time gardening, working with her photography and socializing with her friends.


Vice-President: Michelle Gray, founding member - Missoula

Secretary: Roger DiBrito, founding member - Florence

Roger DiBrito

Roger is serious about cycling.  A bicycle commuter since an early age for school and recreation.  Retired Health Enhancement teacher, Roger has taught children and adults how to mix with traffic in a predictable, responsible way as pedestrian, bicyclist or motorist.  His focus is “Public access to Public Land”, securing “right-of-way” trails and paths to our natural resource’s; rivers, streams, lakes, State and Federal Lands.  He encourages non-motorized travel for personal and planet health.

Treasurer: Bob Wachtel, founding member - Missoula


Bob had been an avid bicycle commuter during his career at the University of Montana in a professional staff position providing service to faculty and students with media support. After retiring from the University he was a founding member of Bike/Walk Alliance for Missoula, Inc. and held the position of Treasurer for that organization for 7 years. Bob became interested in the Bitterroot Trail when BWAM was instrumental in applying for the TIGER grant that enabled the construction of the Missoula to Lolo section of the Bitterroot Trail. Bob is particularly interested in preserving and improving the safety and enjoyment for all users of the Bitterroot Trail.

Board Member: Margaret Gorski - Stevensville


Margaret is retired after having worked 35 years in the US Forest Service and National Park Service in various land management and recreation service positions in the West.  She held positions as the Northern Region Recreation Program Leader in Missoula, MT; District Ranger at Powell, Idaho; District Recreation Staff, Recreation Planner, Landscape Architect and Seasonal National Park Ranger-Naturalist positions in California.

From 1998-2006, she served as the Forest Service’s National Coordinator for the Lewis and Clark Bicentennial. Since retirement, Margaret has served on the Board of the Lewis and Clark Trail Heritage Foundation, the Partnership for the National Trail System, and most recently with the Friends of Fort Owen.

Her interest in National Scenic and Historic Trails has led to her involvement in helping to develop and maintain the Bitterroot Trail, which happens to parallel and follow the routes of the Lewis and Clark and Nez Perce National Historic Trails as well as the Ice Age Floods National Geologic Trail.

Board Member: Greg Lanoue - Stevensville

Board Member: Diana Wood - Victor

Board Member: Curtis Bunton III - Darby

Board Member: Vacancy - please contact us for information if you are interested in becoming a member of the Board of Directors of the Bitterroot Trail Preservation Alliance

Showing 1 reaction

  • Bob Wachtel
    published this page in About us 2018-03-09 14:31:38 -0700